The heart of matters 

Have you ever been around long enough for a familiar place to become strange?

I imagine old people experience that feeling a lot.

I belong to a generation that moved from long landline conversations that were timed by anxious parents to one where 2 year olds can click selfies. This feels pretty normal, and I hope to see the SciFi novels of my childhood become reality. And yet, I realise this slow change does trigger occasional nostalgia. I suspect these get more frequent as we age.

What I realised is, a place and the love you feel for it is rarely just about the place. It’s elements, positive or negative, are such a vital part of its identity. 

I’d consider this a partial break on my favourite paradox, the Ship of Theseus. Also known as Theseus’s paradox, this thought experiment raises the question of whether an object that has had all of its components replaced remains fundamentally the same object. 

After a certain amount of parameters, physical, human or any other kind are changed, the human experience of a place changes forever.

That’s when you say, my heart’s no longer in it.

2 thoughts on “The heart of matters 

  1. Loved it. It portrays what maybe every early 90s kid feels. I feel it around me every time. Even when I walk down the narrow gulleys of my village. The old hearth that once used to boil water for us to bathe on those chilly winter mornings, when school would feel like torment. The tamarind tree where we spent our summer afternoons. The school playground. Nostalgia strikes, and you can’t help but say,” Those were the days”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

